.22 bolt action suggestions

Hello all

Hope you are all keeping safe, while I have some time on my hands I am  doing a bit of research into getting a. 22 bolt action rifle for informal target shooting. 

I was thinking along the lines of the CZ455 or 457 varmint.

I am open to suggestions it just needs to be a good accurate rifle that doesn't cost stupid money.

Cheers Mark 

+1 on above. I have no experience of CZ457, but currently have a 455 (not a Precision Trainer, but a 455 varmint that I transferred into a Boyds Tacticool stock), with a trigger spring job and a pic. rail. I like it, and think its hard to beat for the money. Yes, an Anschutz would probably beat it in terms of group size with favoured ammo, but not by much, and not enough to stump up the difference (for me at least).

I shoot bench-rest with my CZ455 16".  My comp average is 99 so I reckon it's a pretty good gun.  It does need a trigger kit as the original out of the box is not good enough.

• 3 weeks later...

Having had a CZ452 they are a bit agricultural but accurate! (I changed out the trigger spring as Pops mentions also).

I now have a HW60J which is a nicer bit of kit to shoot with the two stage trigger etc Much more refined but of kit. 

I have a 457 MTR, 453 Premium, 452 FS and a 455 varmint. The 457 MTR is just about the most accurate, followed by the 455, but there really isn't much in it.

What sort of target shooting do you actually want to do? If you're just trying to get the best groups that you can, then any of the CZ's will work if you feed them decent ammunition (Eley Match etc). If it's competitions that you're interested in, then look for an Anschutz Match 54 rifle.  😉

• 2 weeks later...
12 hours ago, Mattnall said:

The CZ452/455 are great rifles and good value.

A couple of years ago we bought some CBC MagTech bolt guns as beginner's rifles, and these are excellent value for money and as accurate as the CZ. I was amazed at how good they shot for the money.