Dragonfly IR

OSOK

Does anyone have experience with the VCSEL upgrade pill for the Dragonfly as whilst I've never found any IR too match it's range It's not the cleanest light and the ' Radiator ' effect i've named it which is seen somewhere within the screen does bug the hell out of me . Does the upgrade work or does it just get rid of the ' Radiator ' but at a cost to the range  ?

I've listened to too many people that say they have the best IR ever and i now have more IR's than daft Mick so please only people that have Dragonfly's 👍

OSOK

I have no experience of the vscel upgrade but the dragonfly I had was a terribly dirty picture and sold it on . 

Currently using the 3x wraith from LL which is by far the best IR I have used so far . 

Closest second was the standard Sirius xtl. 

Like you I have went through a few IR's and now on my 7th.  

The original dragonfly uses an old style edge emitting laser that can be focussed to a spot but which, as you say also produces a "dirty" beam

If they've done it right the vcsel will be clean beam but potential with a less bright srea in the centre (aka the polo mint effect)

BTW, I thought Starlight were no longer in business and that the owner was in legal difficulties

https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05557824

According to this the business was dissolved on 4 August this year

Given that, maybe you should listen to some of the people who tell you they have the best IR ever 😃

Cheers

Bruce

Weejohn , The PBiR X is a decent option but it lacks the range of the Dragonfly ... and the L version of the same make was weaker .... There is the DFK unit which again i'm told is the best ever !! cheesy meaning on the initials...Thank you for your thoughts as an ex owner as taking advice off anyone who hasn't owned the item is just worthless

Still hoping that someone has fitted the upgrade and can answer the thread question 🙃

OSOK