Brass prep

munkjack

Hi all I'm just starting reloading and have a rew questions about the order of things??

Do you fully prep your brass before cleaning it or do you clean it first then prep it?

Also do you use a tumbler or an ultrasonic to clean your brass I ask this as at the moment I have tumbler with dry media in and struggle to see how you can be sure that there are no media particles left in the body of the brass I always brush out the necks??

Do you anneal brass before or after you resize and do you have to re anneal your cases every time they have.been fired.

Lots of questions as I say I'm relatively new to reloading.

Cheers in advance.

I always clean before preparing just to ensure it's clean brass going through my dies, although most of my cleaning these days is just wiping the necks with 0000 grade wire wool.

I resize before annealing, which is done by a friend on his AMP. I then simply run a mandrel through the necks just to help ensure my crap shooting is consistent

Tumble, anneal (if needed but usually every 4th firing), de-prime and size, trim and chamfer if needed, then ultrasonic clean to remove all traces of sizing lube and get flash holes and primer pockets clean, dry, and re-prime ready for loading.

The Jacob Gottfredson tutorial is excellent.

Step by step it gives the reasons,and the quite detailed methods employed,best practice, 2003.

JG was a top contributor to Precision Shooting Magazine,highly respected and informed,as you might expect from a Spec F vet,and very experienced sniper/Tact competitor,100-1000y BR shooter,and hunter. A maths degree and engineering masters does no harm either.

But it isn't OCD techy.As the last advice 'the big picture' emphasises,the shooter's skill matters.