Tumbler - alternative??

Oly

I was reading on Sportmans website that the Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Turbo Tumbler can also be used for "for rock polishing or other hobbies requiring small polishing or deburring operations". Which got me thinking...can a rock tumbler be used for case tumbling (with the right media)? :ph34r:

I've been reckoning on a "pikey" version for when I start reloading. I work in a lab, which has a few of those turny roller things that roll tubes of blood to stop them from clotting.

Old Coke bottle, media of choice, tumble away.

Anybody tried anything similar?

The Lyman and other tumblers actually vibrate which is much better for cleaning/ polishing, roller types are better for coating and rock polishing.

There are various ones available the Lyman pro is a big one for a lot of cases and needs a lot of cob and polish to fill it up.

If you look on the Smart reloader site thay are cheap as chips and do work.

Not getting into a discussion with Andrew on wire wool :lol: but it will never get near cases going in my rifles.

http://www.smartreloader.com/

Redfox

been using grey scotch bright lately, its super fine and case necks look like they are new.

the mrs doesnt like it for some reason so when she is cleaning them for me she still uses brasso or solvo autosol

I think the super fine scotch is awsome for cleaning the necks, dont use the green that you get on the kitchen sponge as its way too course

havent used my tumbler for about a year

Silent,

WRT using Brasso to clean cases - the Ammonia in Brasso will preferentially remove Zinc from brass and will eventually weaken the case(that black stuff that comes off when you use Brasso contains mainly Zinc compounds). Tests were done many years ago by, I think Frankford Arsenal, but I am presently unable to locate the reference.

In fact, avoid cleaners which contain Ammonia for any gun cleaning. I don't think there is Ammonia in Solvol Autosol although I am open to correction.

Peter

Silent,