Choosing powder

dannywayoflife

I'm fairly new to hand loading and am really enjoying it. This far I've had a fairly good start developing a load in my 223 using TR140 and the 75 grain Amax. Which shoots .25 moa if I do my part. My only gripe is the fps is pretty low @2660. (I think my barrel while very very accurate is just slow).

So I've been toying with the idea of trying anther powder to increase my fps slightly so I don't get blown about quite so much. Now I want to stay clear of US brands for obvious reasons of supply. So I'm looking at the easier to get European powders. I've seen that lovex SO62 has a burn rate that's similar to accurate 4064 but people say its too slow for the 223 but according to the powder burn rate charts I've down loaded its faster than my TR140 and is very similar to varget. Would this be a good powder to try as I only use very heavy for calibre bullets ie 75gr +.

Thanks

Danny

I shoot 69gr SMK's and my go to load is 26.4 gr Viht N140. This is a max load and produces over 3100 fps. I understand that TR 140 performs in an almost identical way to n140 - however I've not as yet done any back to back tests. N140 certainly does the job for me, it might be worth a go perhaps? Also could there be another accuracy node lurking with a higher charge weight for you to discover?

Yes I know he's going to import a few more powders. A RL15 clone is one of them I believe. I'm picking up some ramshot wildbore on Saturday to try.

Jagged I'm using 25.2 grains at the mo that's just about compressed the bullet just touches the powder when seating. I am going to try some longer col's with a slightly higher charge as I'm still under book max. I'm just amazed that I'm not getting more speed with my current charge I'm well under what others are getting some with lighter charges ;(

Yes I know he's going to import a few more powders. A RL15 clone is one of them I believe. I'm picking up some ramshot wildbore on Saturday to try.