rifle shoot organisers

longbow3

looking for advice from any rifle shoot organisers

what is the rules re; firearms certificate

do competitors have to carry their FAC and display it to enter any rifle competitions?

any advice would be gratefully received

We'll I don't know about competition organisers, but anytime I shoot at a club that I'm not a member of I have to show my ticket.

I'd imagine it's the same for a comp?

We'll I don't know about competition organisers, but anytime I shoot at a club that I'm not a member of I have to show my ticket.

I'd imagine it's the same for a comp?

You've never shot in a comp?

ok sounds like we don't need any of that

Glen Tilt is not MOD and if everyone competing has a FAC they wont need Section 21

Phew was wishing I had never asked

As long as their possession of that FAC is legit...

The Section 21 thing has always been there since I've been shooting competitively (since about 1997) and in all that time I've never been asked to show my FAC, only put the details of it (number and expiry date) on the entry forms.

It's entirely possible for a prohibited person to be in possession of a paper license if, for example, they claimed they lost it before it was revoked.

Highly unlikely I know, but still a possibility.

By signing the declaration they are categorically stating they are not prohibited.

Here's a cut and paste from the NRA's online CSR entry form

DECLARATION:
I declare that:
1. I make this entry subject to the NRA Rules of Shooting and the Regulations for this competition. I also certify that I am qualified to compete in accordance with the Regulations and hold a current certificate of Safety and Competence, which I will present at the meeting.
2. I am not a prohibited person within the meaning of Section 21 Firearms Act 1968(as amended)
3. I have never had a Firearm or Shotgun Certificate refused or revoked.
4. I am over 14 years of age.