Titanium muzzle brake - dissimilar metals problem?

Just thinking through the pros and cons of the Ti brake in the QD silencer thread.

I've always stored steel braked rifles with the brakes on.

I want to check whether a Ti brake can be left on a steel barrel without ill effect - I've got an O level chemistry thing in my head that there'll be a dissimilar metals electrolysis corrosion thing going on if it's left on for longish periods.

Am I going mad?

Matt,there should be no issues of that sort at all.Titanium is not reactive,and indeed forms a very thin oxide layer,anyhow.

If this post O level knowledge is unconvincing,think of titanium cylinders on steel revolver frames,or much more reassuring: 11 tons of it in each big jet engine,at pretty high temperatures.

So no metal problem.

And no mental problem-but of course I am a only psychologist,not a psychiatrist. :-)

george

PS the latest big thing is PFA coatings for the seriously problematic metals....' 'black sparkle',or for the really heavy duty applications,...'green sparkle' ....(way,way,way more advanced than cerakote!!)

The process that you are thinking of is called galvanic corrosion. It happens when two metals of different corrosive potential are in contact with each other. However for it to happen there also has to be an electrolyte present for the ions to flow between the metals and set up a 'corrosion cell'. It's the same basic process as happens in the lithium battery in your cellphone.

Titanium and stainless steel certainly can set up a corrosion cell. It can be a big problem in the maritime industry for example. However that's because there is salt water present to act as the electrolyte. As long as water didn't get into your muzzle thread, I don't see how any galvanic corrosion could occur. If you were at all worried, a smear of high temperature grease on the thread would eliminate the chance of any problems occurring.