views on a 22 hornet

Ive had one in my collection for quite a few yrs now, and use it mainly for rabbit and fox where i think my other cals are too much, no recoil and very accurate out to 150-200yds i reload with 35gn vmax others use 40gn, i left mine sitting in my cabinet for a few yrs why i don't know, and when i started shooting it again i was kicking myself as its a joy to shoot...very underestimated round...by some.

The modern loaded hornet is way ahead of any rimfire,but well behind other centrefires like 222/223.

Some older Hornets were of indifferent accuracy,and cartridge loading were well below the modern options,the earlier having poorly designed bullets,now the Amax and Accutip/ballistictips have given it a real new lease of life.

It has some real advantages,compared to other 224 cfs,it's quite a bit quieter,and cheaper to reload,and is generally available in neat,small,light ,accurate carry rifles.All good.But it cannot compete at distances beyond a stretched 200yards,or have the energy-if needed-of the 222/223s.

The ballistics tell the story:given a 200y zero,the Hornet (35g@3100) is -17/36 inches drop/drift (10mph wind) at 300 yards,while a 222 (40g @ 3600) is -6/13 .No contest.Hotting the load,different bullets etc actually favours the 222,more capacity and a far stronger case.

But the Hornet is an effective cartridge for small vermin,and is very pleasant to shoot-it's energy at 200 is a modest 200 ftlb ,compared to the popular 223 at 700 ft lb.Again,it can be effective IF the range is not pushed too hard,but getting fox marginal,unless there are special considerations.

Any cartridge can sometimes pull off exceptional shots,but they are just that,not generally replicable,and there will be rather more disappointing ones when limits are pushed.That's why 223,243,308,338 etc exist!

Gbal