Advice needed please, with what "long range" calibre should i get?

Hi folks,

I need a little "constructive" advice if possible?

I've always been a "rough" shooter out on the land.

However, i'd like to have a go at "Long range" target shooting at a club.

I've taken a few rabbits out at the 190 yards +/- a few yards, with my .204R, But i've little knowledge on this subject.

I've been reloading my own rounds for approximately 12 months. But this is for the smaller centre fire calibres. I'm aware of the fac issues, it's just the gun advice i would appreciate...

I would like some opinions on what calibre would be the most appropriate for long range target shooting. I'm thinking around up to the 700 yard mark? But be able to take out the odd troublesome fox on my permission. Also, what is the best basic rifle I should consider, that has a reasonable "action" that I can add to or customize, to help towards better accuracy. I'm not saying I want to jump straight into trying my hand at 1000+ yard shooting. At this point i'm laughing at the thought of me hitting a target at 1000 yards........

I love CZ rifles, and have a few. However, there doesn't seem much on the market to upgrade one.

I've been thinking of a Remington 700 with a heavy barrel, in it's basic form.

As for the calibre, I've read posts on some forums that rave about the 6.5mm round, for being so versatile. However, i don't recall the length. Does 6.5x55 sound right??

Or maybe just the standard .308?

Endless options really.....What rough budget are you considering for the complete rifle?

For starters, 243win, 6mmbr, .260 rem or 6.5x47 would be great choices on a Remington or Tikka action, if it needs to be magazine fed on a budget. Plus good glass is required, if spotting your own shots in the field - so really 20x or more.

Also where are you based? If local I may be able to help....