Case prep,cleaning and reloading,what order do you do yours.

527vamint

Ok I am fairly new to new to reloading just wondered what order do you case prep and clean ready for reloading.

At the moment I am using once fired factory brass of various types,just to get the feel of things.

with the fresh fired brass I

1.remove primer with a adapted die for sole primer removal.

2.clean primer pocket with the lee pocket tool.

3.chamfer-debur inner and outer neck with rcbs chamfer tool.

4.clean cases in a ultrasonic cleaner the aldi one with hot water and washing up liquid. Tried janitol (citric acid) seams a bit too good.

5.dry on a radiator upside down.

6.blow the dry case out with air duster.

7.case lube cases outer and inside the neck.

8.full length size.

9.wipe cases clean with a rag.

10.measure cases.

11.prime cases using rcbs hand primer.

12.measure powder and put in the case.

13.seat bullet head and measure oal.

If you have a better way could you put me straight before I get carried away.I think I have a mild form of ocd and quite like doing things in order.

Many thanks in advance Andy.

Spooky, pretty similar to what I do. However, step 0, clean necks and inspect the fired cases as I put them in a box with the number of firings noted.

2a, uniform primer pocket.

2b. uniform flash hole.

3 I do as 8b, where 8a is trim to length (if required).

9. I clean again with the ultrasonic cleaner.

9a. I sort the cases by weight and put them away for loading at a later date.

In summary, store fired cases by vintage.

Clean cases, resize cases, clean them again and store them.

Reload them at a later date.

Fire them and start again.

Finally, I write it all down, so if I screw up, someone might be able to work out what I did wrong.

Regards JCS

Spooky, pretty similar to what I do. However, step 0, clean necks and inspect the fired cases as I put them in a box with the number of firings noted.

2a, uniform primer pocket.

2b. uniform flash hole.