6.5 bullets

njc110381

I'm just getting into reloading and want a bullet that will do the job well on both Fox and Deer. Most Deer will be Roe or Fallow, with some Red Hinds thrown in at times. I doubt I'll be shooting Deer at range, maybe 150 yards? Most of the shooting will be Fox.

I've ordered some Lapua cases and Hornady 129grn SST bullets. I'll be loading over Varget.

What do you think of the SST? Are there any other bullets I should try before I settle into a load with them (I don't plan to mess about once I've got something half decent, I'll just load what I know)?

Guest northernchris

As a "jack of all trades master of most" bullet i use either 100gr or 120gr Nosler Balistic tips in the 6.5x55 even at a modest 2640fps the 120gr puts um down VERY WELL and are umber accurate to boot ;)

My load is

44.8gr of N160

Lapua Brass

CCI BR-2 primers

120gr Nosler BT

2640fps

Sierra make some lighter hollow point bullets but they would only suitable for for Fox and maybe the smaller deer species.I hear the Hornadys 129gr and 140gr bullets are very good but i have no 1st hand experiance on game with these.

A guy I know really doesn't like Noslers, so I've never considered them. He says they're messy. That opinion got me a right grilling over on pigeon watch because I can't back it up first hand. Are they not known as one of the more violent bullets, even the non varmint types?

Guest northernchris

As i said driven at modest speeds AND with correct bullet placement they are fine. They make no more mess than Sierra gamekings of the same weight.

Guest northernchris

It depends on what bullet weight he is running.

I shot some of the factory 140gr Hornady ammo yesterday,out of the Sako 75 i was testing they shot very well on paper,the owner of the Sako uses it every year on Scotish hinds will no problem at all.

All said and done find a QUALITY game bullet some good loading components and see what YOUR rifle likes best.

NJC