F class calibre?

6.5shooter

Ok folks,

I have a single shot rpa rifle that is going to be rebarreled for f class shooting over here in N Ireland.

Im just getting started in f class and its a bit primitive over here compared with you folk across the water as regards rifles etc.

I had applied for 6.5x284 but my application was messed up and i think its getting refused because of complications but I will reapply when I get it back and get my reasoning straight this time and all should go smoothly.

Anyhow, I want to pick the brains of all the current f class shooters and accuracy boffins on here whom I seek a bit of advice for my questions.

Well, im wondering to myself should I reapply for the 6.5x284 again or should I ask for a 6.5x47? I currently have a 6.5x47 repeater rifle for other tacticalish shooting but I want a dedicated f class rifle.

Im thinking 6.5x284 shooting 139 scenars around 2950 fps vs a 6.5x47 shooting 139 scenars at 2900 ish using re17.

This will be a 30" barrel.

Now, I know 50 fps is not the be all and end all of everything but every little helps as they say but Im interested in low velocity spread and greater accuracy potential that I think the 47 case may or may not posess over the 284 case?

Niw I may be splitting hairs here but what do you fellas think from experience of shooting the 6.5x284?

There is all this chat of poor barrel life but is it really that bad? Barrel life between the two rounds shouldnt be alot of difference I guess when the 47 case is using re17 powder.

I dont want to go 7mm as I shoot mainly MOD ranges etc and want to stick inside energy limits.

If all else fails and I cant decide I may just have it rebarrelled 308 and enter the FTR class but I seek advice first before I make any rash decisions.

Thoughts appreciated.

Garry