Never mind the paper punching...

TonyH

Related to Nemasis/Andy's thread since it's partly about misses... But no pics I'm afraid. It amazes me how so many of you guys seem to photograph - or even film, forsooth - your hunting exploits. I'm a photographer, but i don't usually carry a camera when i go shooting, can't be arsed and it's extra weight + hassle. Carrying a heavy varmint rifle, big heavy binocs, rangefinder, ammo, earmuffs etc is enough for me, and in a superstitious way I feel carrying a camera is being a bit over confident...

Anyway, still shooting my 22-250 erratically on the range, but it's vital not to get carried away with group sizes and so on. My chum in Canada admits freely he can't shoot at the range for toffee, but in the field after groundhogs it's different, and his longest so far with his .243 AI is well over 900 yards...

So last night I went out with the heavy Rem and a few rounds of what seems the best load so far - 33.8gr of Benchmark in a neck-sized WW case, WW primer, V-Max 55gr seated about 25 thou off. I have a nice field with maximum range from "my" corner to the opposite one of a bit over 300 yards, and there are usually rabbits at that farthest corner plus sometimes a couple at the nearer corner. So with bunnies from maybe 150 to 300+ it's good for testing, and a pretty spot too. Big Devon hedgerows and hedges all round.

There was a lively but erratic breeze blowing from my left, quartering away; not predictable though: the general trend of the land here is sloping from left to right quite steeply, and the field itself has a big funnel-like scoop across the middle, widening towards the downhill side to my right. The opposite side is almost level with the firing point. As you can imagine, this topography makes for some weird wind patterns: I didn't attempt to dial in for windage, but held off, according to what I could see from waving grass, butterflies, dust etc.