scope height from barrel centre

ok guys im thinking bout trying longer range plinking etc. im a long range novice! ;)

i have the chrono , the scope with relevant turrets, and a couple of different ballistics programs for the iphone

isnipe & bullet flight

anyhow ...how do i measure the distance from barrel center to scope centre ...... i can do it roughly but was wondering if there was any "method" that you guys use etc

also i remember someone on here posted a link to an article form some american military guy who teaches....it was an article on longe range and explained moa real simply etc......

anyone know the one i mean or link to it~?

cheers

guys

Sauer / paul

Its centre of bore line to centre of scope tube.

Makes a big difference to ballistic programmes if you get the measurement wrong (at long range)

Measure as close as you can and if possible input into your prog as accurately as possible.

You will need the correct measurement device(s)....

Vernier calipers will get you most of the way there :

1) Choose a point along the barrel where you can measure both the barrel O/D and the objective bell O/D

2) Measure the barrel O/D and divide by 2, this will give you centre line of bore to outside of barrel

3) Measure the objective bell and divide by 2, this will give you centre line of scope to outside of scope

4) Measure the distance between barrel and scope. This is a little trickier unless you have some LONG reach calipers, but failing that you can use a pack of playing cards, notepad etc, just keep adjusting the thickness until it is a snug fit in the gap, then measure cards / pad with the calipers.

5) Add up the three measurements to get centre of bore to centre of scope. Note that this will not work with mounts that have built in tilt (eg a 20 MOA rail). You'll need a bit of trigonometry to work it out properly if you have that type of mount.