Bullet overspin?

ezmobile

Hi all.

Just a qiuck question about something I've not considered before which is, is it possible to "overspin" a bullet? I've been handloading for ages but I'm having a new .30 cal barrel made up for one of my rifles with a fast twist (1:9.5) for heavier, longer bullets, ( I already have a 1:12 Palma barrel for it). My question is, would it be o.k. to drive say, a 155 Sierra MK through it at high velocities when the bullet is better suited to a 1:13 or so? I've heard stories of bullets "throwing off" jackets before, but never seen it and would obviously prefer to avoid it if it does happen from time to time.

Apologies to anyone thinking this is a stupid question, its just something I have no knowledge of.

Any thoughts?

There has been some evidence presented for very high MV loads with shorter (ighter) bullets causing jacket separation before the bullet has exited the muzzle, but I doubt you'd have cause for concern with 155 SMKs and a 1/12. I use them for highish velocity loads from a 1/11 twist barrel as do many sport shooters. The only issues that I've come across were related to smaller calibres using thinner bullet jackets where at (presumably) some predetermined spin rate, the centrifugal forces caused the issue. However, I think that just about all the cases that I've read about were related to older bullet manufacture where the bonding of the jacket to the core wasn't as good as it is today.