What's the best progressive press for sensible money?

njc110381

Hi guys. I currently reload with a Lee four hole turret press set up to do single stages. But I'm thinking I'd quite like to upgrade to a progressive setup. I think I can do it to some extent with the Lee, but I'm not sure?

I'm now thinking it may be a good time to upgrade. What's available and what's good? I had a quick search on google but didn't really come up with much. I'd be reloading for a number of rounds from Hornet to .45-70. As there's so much about and it's a subject I don't know a lot about, your advice would be really invaluable and much appreciated!

Edit... I just watched a video on the RCBS Pro 2000 and it looks quite smart, but no doubt there will be a nmber of other options with massively varying prices!

I have a Lee Loadmaster set up for .38 special. Despite some bad reviews on the internet, if you set it up properly, it runs flawlessly. I have the optional bullet feeder and can happily knock out 50 rounds in less than 3 minutes.

If you are loading multiple calibres however, you'll need to spend a good hour setting the press up for a different cartridge. You can't just swap dies and shell plate and start cranking.

If I were going to load several calibres, I'd have spent the extra and gone for a Dillon 650.

I had a feeling it wouldn't be cheap! £600+ for the 650, although for what it does that's quite good really. The more worrying part is I'm not sure it has a 6.5x55 option? It would need one of those! The listed calibres it will work with is rather short and only covers one of my guns. I'll have to look into it further.

400 rounds per hour is going some. I wonder if I'm looking at a tool that is considerably better than what I need?! I could load a year's worth of ammo for everything I own in a couple of hours! I'm beginning to think a turret press, if set up correctly, could be plenty for my needs.