IOR Scopes

sharps4065

A friend of mine is considering an IOR Scope. I have no experience of them to advise. So what does communal wisdom think about them? Especially for long range work.

Cheers

Sharps4065

Never owned but have used a couple and looked thru/' 'fondled' a few more. All had nice glass and controls - but they are to me just a bit 'chunky'.

Terry

Ps your name would suggest a Winchester 'B' would be more appropriate? :)

I used to shoot with a mate who was a part-time RFD and very experienced shooter. He had owned many premium brands of 'scope. He used to say, "If you want to look AT a 'scope, buy [brand X, Y or Z]; if you want to look THROUGH a 'scope, buy IOR."

Tiborasaurus Rex agrees:

maximus otter

I have the 3.5 x 18 FFP ,The glass quality is brilliant, the turrets are large and easy to use with definite clicks and a zero stop,it also has a separate ring on the elevation turret so you can have two zero settings, which is handy. if i was being really fussy i would say the reticle is a little busy for my liking and it is a little heavy,but not enough to be a real issue. They are also built like a tank, my rifle recently got knocked of a 900 high workbench onto a wooden floor and landed on the scope with no effect to performance or zero, The price is good compared to other quality scopes, I'm just about to buy another one

Sharps4065

Never owned but have used a couple and looked thru/' 'fondled' a few more. All had nice glass and controls - but they are to me just a bit 'chunky'.

Terry

Ps your name would suggest a Winchester 'B' would be more appropriate? :)

Very true but I do like the '74, the Winnies never appealed. The 40/65 is my short and mid range tack driver (and when I don't want the snot kicked out of me). My serious '74, for long range and scaring the locals, is a 50/90 with a 16lb Shiloh Barrel on it. Total weight 21lbs. The bitch still gains your attention when you pull the trigger though!