.308 neck size question...

Will_

I'm just getting started with reloading. At the moment I'm just double checking all my equipment, measurements etc.

When I neck size my .308 cases with my Classic Lee Loader, ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeEl9wZyabc ) the internal width of the neck ends up too tight for my .308 Lee case length gauge ( http://www.sportsmanguncentre.co.uk/lee-case-length-gauge-and-shell-holder )

I'm trying to figure out if:
a. My Lee Loader is making the neck sizes too tight.
b. My case length gauge is slightly too wide.
c. This is normal and nothing to worry about.
d. None of the above!

My internal neck width (post neck sizing) are around .299 - .300
The cases are Lapua. Straight out of the box, the internal neck width of the cases are generally between .302 to .304
My.308 Lee case length gauge is .304 wide.
The bullets I'll be using are Sierra Matchking 155 bullets.

Thanks, and apologies if my terminology is all over the place.

Will

Not familiar with the workings of "the loader" but answer is "a" and insering a 308 bullet into .299-300 is way over the desired pinch of say two to three thou commonly produced with a Lee Neck sizing die.With respect Will try and sit down with an experienced reloader if you can,,,,,,,,O

Thank you. I'll be getting started under the supervision of an experienced reloader. Not many people seem to have experience of Lee Loaders though and I wanted to throw this question out there. Tapping the bullet rather than pressing to seat it won't make a difference to the optimum case internal neck width will it? If not (and I don't imagine it will) I think I may have a faulty bit of kit.

The best advice I'd give:

Try to avoid things made by Lee.(Although their Cast Classic Press is OK)

Always full-length size your brass.(But no need to size new 'out of the box' Lapua)

Buy some Forster dies.

Where are you Will? As 'onehole' suggests - sitting down with an experienced reloader would be beneficial.