Rem 700 VS. Your advice needed.

Morning All,

I have an opportunity to buy a Remington 700 VS in .22-250. From what little information I can find online it is a 26” heavy barrel model 700 with a jewelled bolt sat on a HS stock with full aluminium bedding block. I think they were produced circa 2000 in very limited quantity. There is no information on the Remington website and the info above has come from a couple of reviews buried deep in the web.

Has anyone owned/fired this particular model, if so how did you get on?

Any ideas on what twist rate will the barrel have?

The rifle is down in Sussex so a fair trek from Lincoln but I’m at Bisley on 14th Sept for TR so will head down to look at it on 13th and make a weekend of it.

Finally I plan to use the rifle for varminting but, depending on twist rate, I really like the idea of McQueens up at Diggle. I have no experience of the model 700 but I’m told that they are ‘easily’ customisable, i.e. can change bottom metal to convert from fp mag to detachable. Can anyone confirm this?

I welcome your thoughts.

Happy Friday,

J

I had the exact model you describe. Really liked it but I struggled to get it to shoot because the barrel was poorly chambered and the rifling damaged at the factory. I decided to move the rifle on rather than rebarreling and am regretting doing so to this date. If it's the right price then go for it. The 22/250 is a bit of a barrel burner so I would have it bore scoped before buying it. There are a multitude of add on bits available for the rem 700 so you will have lots of options