barrel thickness

sean223

was wondering about barrel thickness. is there a big difference in accuracy ways from a heavy barrel to a sporting barrel. i have a howa 1500 in 223 sporting barrel on a floppy hogue stock. getting a new scope for it, zeiss conquest hd5 5-25x50 and thinking of getting a new stock for it to improve accuracy and long distance shooting. is it a bad idea putting new stock/scope on my sporting barrel or would it be better on a heavy barrel. its main use is for rabbits and foxes out to 500 yards or so, looking some expert advice guys. thanks.

Sean hi , im no expert ! A better stock would definitely help any laminated or a moulded type like PSE or mcMillan IF you could get the right one and there in stock . BUT also need proper pillar bedding too . With a floated berrel you would almost definitely see better accuracy / consistency thru that sporter barrel .

scope wise , that HD5 is a great choice - i was considering one there just georgous lol. Interested where your buying that from and the price as im still considering one - PM me please on that . The heavier barrel maybe would be a little better at longer range but to get a custom re-barrel with a varmint /heavy contour would be the best part of a grand for a top maker . Good luck buddy :)

sean i can see your buying all the gear for long distsnce shooting but the rifle is a howa, and i am sure that they are only 1:12 twist, you really need something with a faster twist to shoot the heavier and higher BC bullets they will buck the wind better and have more stabillity at 500yards....

the 55s might get you there but the wind is going to be your main problem

the tikkas do a 1:8 and have better stocks on them right from the off...

To the original question on barrel thickness, the main reason for a heavy barrel is that it heats up less quickly and therefore expands less quickly which is what affects accuracy.