Magnetospeed V2 vs Chrony F1, compared.

A couple of days ago I ordered a Magnetospeed V2 chronograph from Brian Fox whch arrived this morning. I paid a very reasonable £299 delivered, it was sent by 24 courier but few things make it up here in 24hours!

Anyway I've been using the same Chrony F1 for the past 10 years or so and I was always reasonably happy with the data it gave me, verified fairly well by bullet drops at long distance. The reason I bought the Magnetospeed was its reputed to be thoroughly accurate, is totally unaffected by light conditions, gives true muzzle velocity instead of 10-15feet away and is quicker/easier to set up and Chrony F1's often are perceived to be are crap and tell lots of lies!!!

This afternoon I grabbed the .223 and ten rounds of ammo anxious to put a few shots over it and the F1 simultaneously to prove to myself the F1 is an out and out liar!

Shots 1 -10:

---V2-----F1---

1. 2739 2738

2. 2733 2734

3. 2735 2738

4. 2739 2741

5. 2736 2738

6. 2712 2710

7. 2715 2715

8. 2748 2748

9. 2753 2753

10. 2724 2723

--------------------

Av.2733 Av. 2733

Sd. 13 Sd. 13

Es. 41 Es. 43

I was amazed with the above result! I didn't expect for a minute to have readings so close and often the same. Granted there would be maybe a few fps in it as the F1 was at 10 feet and the Magnetospeed at the muzzle.

I just thought it was interesting as people often say cheap chronographs aren't worth it and are often nowhere near the truth, at least my F1 in these light conditions on this day seemed pretty good!

Anyway I'm delighted with the Magnetospeed and wont be getting any more error messages with bright sun, misalignment issues and can even go and fire a few shots into my garden at night after a reloading session with the V2 fitted and get good info even in the dark! I had quite a few dull afternoons this winter trying to get chrono speeds with the F1 and got mostly error messages or ridiculously low or high speeds because of daylight.