X Mag?? for a 1000 yards

pwinnall

Hello, I'm new to this long range stuff.

I have been looking at a Nightforce scope in 8-32x56 mill dot.

Would this be ok for up to a 1000 yards.

Then the x8 would be ok for closer stuff.

Thanks for you advice Phil

Depends on the target size.

A group from the site went to WMS a few years ago, I took two rifles with 4-16 PM11's

Was easy enough to connect with orange clays at 900 + meters with both .....

If your shooting a discipline such as F Class, id suggest you need at least 25 power... in order to impart a degree of precision in aiming off (using a graduated ret) and to see exactly where the marked shot is.

I'd stay with the 8x32 Night Force.

The higher mag 12x42 is nice when you can use it,but mirage often restricts the power to 30 ish,and the 12 isa bit high perhaps for other use.

Though it is a bit personal, most find that more mag is desirable for fine shot placement-and of course you can reduce as needed-you can't odd it on!

The mil dot has a reasonable cross hair ,some of the other reticules are finer-perhaps 'better' for the completely dedicated 1000 yard 1/2 moa aiming mark,but not for more general use.

You might not need the side focus NSX if you want to trim the cost on a used NF-though it is very useful if you shoot a lot at short distances and need to refocus in a hurry-you can get simple plastic handles-fishing shops-that screw on the objective ring and make it much easier to adjust...a few pounds only.

8x32 Night Force-excellent choice.

Hello, I'm new to this long range stuff.

I have been looking at a Nightforce scope in 8-32x56 mill dot.

Would this be ok for up to a 1000 yards.

Then the x8 would be ok for closer stuff.

Thanks for you advice Phil