Rem 700 Police in 223

I negociate with a guy to buy a secondhand Rem 700 Police in 223. How good are they? Better than the 700 Tactical. I prefer the 20" barrel from the Tactical, but the Police can be shortened I think. The purpose is practising on the range and a bit of fox shooting from the high seat.

Both should be 1-9". To start I plan to shoot mil surplus ammo, but would like to reload some Berger VLD's in the future. ( 70 grain??)

A better rifle than the tactical. Not many PSS,s sold , or seen since the advent of the SPS. No evidence to prove otherwise, but I,ve always suspected a better quality barrel on the PSS. The parkerising is most certainly better, plus it has the decent hs precision stock.

As I told before I am new to shooting on the range. I shoot over my dogs and have a Browning European 7x64 to shoot a deer or boar. Up to now the 7x64 does his service on the range, but this is not ideal. The stock design doesn't suit me to shoot prone ( to low on the shoulder), so recoil is a bit stiff. Ammo is also to expensive to use a lot. I don't plan to shoot competitive, but always have had a competitive mind. When the guy next to you shoots on a windy day with a 6mm BR Grunig & Elmiger about 15 rounds in a 3" circle on a windy day at 400m , you just feel that you need something more appropriate.

As I heard a lot of good from the Rem 700 and the price is very honest, this looks my way to start.

Baldie, nice website and VERY nice work. If I were in the UK, I would certainly come and have a look at your place.

• 3 weeks later...

A better rifle than the tactical. Not many PSS,s sold , or seen since the advent of the SPS. No evidence to prove otherwise, but I,ve always suspected a better quality barrel on the PSS. The parkerising is most certainly better, plus it has the decent hs precision stock.