.25 Souper

sauer

hi guys

im working with some yanks over in qatar just now and one of the guys has a .25 Souper

i have a .25-06 and i love the calibre so i was curious as ive never heard of it

he tells me its basically a .308 necked to .257

sooooo my query ...bearing in mind im no expert so keep it simples for stoopid(me)

is this just a 25 cal bullet in a short action (.308) case?

ballistically how is this round compared to standard .25cal?

could i say theoretically take my .22-250 sako m591....rebarrel to .25 cal then use .308 brass?

just curious as im not up on the ins & outs of changing calibres up n down and im just curious

theoretically sounds like to me the layman that you have a .25 cal which i love but could have it in a .308 case or short action giving better economics on powder useage? or is it not as simple as that!?

not that that would be my plan....just talking theory here...i already have my Russel Gal .25cal sooo wouldnt be changing that!

sauer /paul

Whatever his opinion, it's gotta be a far more balanced cartridge than a .25-06 which is definitely overbore.

My br-in-law has a .25-06 and I can't for the life of me understand why.

If you rate a .243AI, there's damn near no diff with this (ignoring the range of projectiles)

Chris-NZ

My 25 calibre wildcat isn't the standard .25 Souper, but uses .243 brass necked up to .257 and fireformed to give a 40 degree shoulder and less body taper (think .243 Ackley necked up to .25 calibre). It has a .290", no turn, neck. The barrel is a 1 in 10 twist Pac-Nor.

I believe Russ Gall has a similar reamer to mine.

I've not experimented much with heavier bullets yet, but the 75 grain bullets are achieving 3600 fps, with 12 or 13 grains less powder than the .25/06 needs to achieve the same velocity.

87 grain bullets are running safely at 3250 fps. I can wring a little more out of them, but they do all I need as they are.