As regards rear bags I'm a luddite.

I've never given them a lot of thought and have always tended towards field (pocket!) portability rather than absolute stability.

I spent a couple of years carrying a rear 'bipod' of 2 x 6" lengths of dowel joined with tape at one end - a hangover from trying to 'up' my accuracy with normal sporter stalking rifles. They work; but are 'sub-optimal' for other uses.

rearbagsticks.jpg

Getting a bit more 'range-oriented' I graduated to a bean bag filled with polycarbonate beads -this was a cut-off NBC sleeve with the slack being used to tip excess beads out of the way for large elevation changes. Worked pretty well; but a bit heath robinson and not quite 'field' or 'range' optimised.

rearbagnbc.jpg

I now walk around with something similar - a cordura pillow filled with polystyrene micro-beads - virtually weightless; but I find I struggle to get absolutely rock solid support.

So.... other than the abuse I'm due for revealing my luddite approach :rolleyes: ; what are you using that gives rock solid support?

For my purposes I want the Nirvana of a pocketable rear-rest that could be used competitively for McQueens. Is there such a beast?!

Grateful for pics/links of/to recommended choices.

(Also be useful if you could highlight whether you think a particular option is "Field optimised", "Range Optimised" or "Bench-rest/F-Class Optimised")

Thanks!

Didn't know that you can use a bag-bag for the McQueen.

But, the squashy bag you already have is used by a few competent F/TR shooters who must make small adjustments from the back rather than the front rest as with Open F Class shooters.

For a really solid 'benchrest' platform, go for a leather bag with Cordura 'ears' and fill it with the heaviest sand you can carry! Pack the body tight but leave the ears a bit flexible.

If you shoot off a bi-pod with a bunny-ear benchrest-type back-bag, then don't pack it so tight and make your fine adjustments by squeezing the bag.

Cheers

Vince