f class for next year

hi there as i am new to the f class open sport i am having a new build done in .284 shehane.

i inttend to shoot f open, so working on from that point could a few off you reccomend some bits ill be needing . i have a person in mind to build it but i need to know which i want him to build it with

my first consideration , would what action should i go for. meant to say as well that i have a bout a 4k budget for the complete rifle not including sundries

any comments very welcome

Mark , Having shot the F Open for the past four years or so on the National circuit i know that the first thing to consider would be the stock and how it feels to you and how it sits and rides the front and rear bags .

Too much attention is given to actions as Bat's , Barnard's , Stolle etc all work well so just pick one that floats your boat and suits the stock .

You need to be shooting a 180g Berger at around 2,950 ft/sec to be in the running as well as having to read wind changes well because you'll be shooting against WSM's that are being pushed at 3,150 to 3,200 ft/sec and that difference in a full value 10mph will be around 3 inches and considering the 'V' has a radious of 2.5 inches .

Your gain in the Shehane will be barrel life , i guess 1500 to 2000 round pending how fast you push it but compared to the 700 to 1000 rounds of the WSM's it will be more economical .

Assuming your rifle will group well and your extreme spreads are under 20 ft/sec then the reality of F Open is that the faster you can push the bullet with the greater BC the more chance of wining you will have which leads to another requirement , that of deep pockets !

Do not be put off by this but see it as a challenge and know that you'll have to read the conditions better as i've found that the guy's who have 10-15 barrels to test and pick from don't care if they only get 700 rounds from it BUT velocity confidence can equal complacency so they are beatable !