When to use your case trimmer

lancslad

Was given a lyman case trimmer, and was just wondering when it should be used.

Just started hand loading purely because I couldnt get a heavy weight soft point for deer stalking in .223, so went for the speer semi spitzer 70g.

Im shooting 24grains of varget, loads are not "hot".

I am loading into lapua brass and, once I get throught this next lot of rounds I will be on my 3rd loading.

Offers and advice greatly appreciated.

Was given a lyman case trimmer, and was just wondering when it should be used.

Just started hand loading purely because I couldnt get a heavy weight soft point for deer stalking in .223, so went for the speer semi spitzer 70g.

Im shooting 24grains of varget, loads are not "hot".

I am loading into lapua brass and, once I get throught this next lot of rounds I will be on my 3rd loading.

Offers and advice greatly appreciated.

i'm pretty new to reloading but i was told to do it after every time the case was used, well thats what i do anyway,

surely if you've not been doing it your case has stretched and may affect the chambering and bolting??

Have a look in your reloading manual mate ...trim your cases when they have exceeded the max case length ...

Got this from my loading manual...

Every rifle case must be checked for size before reloading. Rifle cases stretch when they are fired, and they stretch again during the sizing process. During the reloading process, the cases are trimmed to remove this extra length. If a rifle case is loaded without being trimmed, the resulting cartridge may not chamber correctly. A cartridge made from an untrimmed rifle case may also result in unsafe, dangerous chamber pressure when the cartridge is fired.

i'm pretty new to reloading but i was told to do it after every time the case was used, well thats what i do anyway,

surely if you've not been doing it your case has stretched and may affect the chambering and bolting??