Neck turning newbie

Catch-22

I would be grateful for some advice please.

Ive got a .284 Shehane build in progress. But I’m new to neck turning. I think I’ve got what I need but would appreciate someone checking my logic/process please.

Reamer: .284 Shehane 0.313” neck

Process;

- Start with new 284 Lapua brass 
- Expand brass with 7mm/284 expander mandrel (Sinclair)
- Lube and turn necks to a 0.012” neck wall thickness. This should give a 0.004” clearance in a chamber cut with a 0.313” neck
- Anneal neck turned brass
- FL size brass with .305” bushing
- Load bullets to jam in throat (eg 0.015” jam). Use starting/mid range load (eg 54gn N165)
- Go shoot and fire form 
- Then usual deprime, tumble, anneal, expand necks, FL Size (should I use the same 0.305” bushing or perhaps go up to a 0.306 or 0.307” bushing??). 

For neck turning, I was thinking of the PMA cutting tool. There aren’t many die options, Whidden is the obvious. Otherwise I was thinking of a Cortina 284 Shehane and for seating a FCP Shehane arbor die.

Thoughts and advice anyone please??

Thank you.

I've been shooting a .313 neck Shehane for years. I use a 6.5 expander on Lapua brass and then a 7mm, I use a coated expander and Imperial sizing wax applied on the inside of the neck with a cotton bud, less force is good.

If you going to use a PMA cutter then get their expander to match the pilot they supply, the PMA tool is very good, again it's what I use.

I turn to 12.5 and use a .307 or .308 bushing and then use a expander, this gives me a loaded round of .309

Dies, I use Newlon blanks, ask who ever is doing the work if they have the resize reamer.