swiss reload, velocity consistency, primers

ai308

Hi guys,

I'm new to ukvarminting.com and I'm pretty lucky that I found that page. Overwhelming knowledge, I couldn't stop reading.

I hope, my 1st post will not be a redundant one.

I've  changed the powder for my .308 from N140 to RS50 and RS52 some weeks ago. However, I'm not happy with the SD of the velocities I've achieved so far.

Best results:

• SD of 13 (5 shots,44.4gr RS50)
  • SD of 11 (5 shots, 44.6gr RS52)

Besides of that, the SD was between 20 - 30 for the other loads (43.5 - 44.2)

I'm using the following components:

•  Lapua .308Win brass ( fired 3 times so far)
  •  Hornady 168gr HPBT match
  •  CCR BR2 large primer

Tried Neck-sizing as well as FL, Did not change the results much. Best consistency was around 44.4 gr (RS50) and 44.4 - 44.6 gr(RS52).

But I've recognized, that I've got some neck tension issues. (inconsistent pressure when seating the bullets) This needs to be fixed, before I should do further testing.

But just for interest, what SD do you achieve with RS 50 / RS 52 and Lapua .308 brass?

What primers do you use?

I was watching ftr shooters yesterday from 300 to 600yds running on RS52 with their loads and it looked pretty good to me.very accurate powder weighing and neck tension are the key factors it seems.

I've been using RS50 in mine with 175 TMKs and Lapua brass with Murom primers, and achieving good SD and low ES.

Try using OCW or Satterlee load development as it helps identify your lowest SD loadings with better precision and efficiency than ladder testing.