204 Ruger, effective killing range.

Aussie Foxer

Hi fellow forum members, I have just purchased new Tikka T3X Super Varmint in 204 cal.

I have topped it of with Sportsmatch mounts and a Meopta Meostar 3-12 x56 with illuminated 4C ret.

I am new to this calibre and would like to know the maximum range I could shoot foxes at ?

I realise that my ability has to be taken into account, most of my shooting is done either from a bipod or bench bags on the vehicle. Most likely 40 grain V Max factory will be my ammo of choice.

Would 300 yards be too far for a clean kill with a well placed shot?

I'm trying to work out my maximum point blank range.post-14846-0-61085400-1482542899_thumb.jpg

Any advice much appreciated and a merry Christmas to you all from a hot Australia.

Can't comment on foxes (coz there ain't none in NZ) but that factory load supposedly doing 3900 is pretty flat shooting.

After a 10 sec play on the ballistics prog, a 230yd zero with this load is only 3.1" low at 300 so I'd say that's well within a reasonable PBR for a fox-size animal. Don't know how much wind you suffer over there but if there's some, that'll be the bigger variable in my experience. My gunsmith/mate has the std varmint T3 and that's a real tackdriver but it sure suffers in the wind..

Been mild here but heading to 31C on Tues. Prob still a lot milder than you're "enjoying". Don't overdo the VB/4X/Fosters/whatever... :D

The figures are:

500y 28.1/24.4 404

600y 58.6/37.4 306

gbal

HI G.

Thing is - these figure will be SO far out as to be worthless.

The velocity of 3900 fps (although stated on the ammo box and Hornady website) I can only assume this was obtained using a VERY long barrel. - 26 inches. I will be shocked if the MV is over 3650 fps in a 20 " barrel

The BC of 40 grn Vmax is actually 0.250 - not 0.275 - SHOCK another figure shamelessly hyped up to make the 204 appear ballistically better than it is. Yes its a fantastic cal - but lets get real here.