Boat tail length

DAVE A

Hi all

I've been swaging my own >308s for a few years now with some success but I have been limited to flat base or rebated boat tailed bullets

Today I finally got round to making a punch that can make a true boat tail, I was trying to get something similar to the Scenar profile and although I got the angle right the length is about 1mm longer than the Scenar boat tail.

Overall I am quite pleased with the results and I am still going to shoot them but I was wondering if anyone can tell what the ideal angle and length of boat tail should be ,my bullets are 1.2" long with a 6 ogive and weigh 175.5 grains ,

Thanks for any help

Dave.

0057D4B6-32BD-451C-9938-C9A85B537B76_zps

I can't help with the angles but have to ask are you using a hydraulic press and where do you get the jackets ? Years ago I had a Corbin die set for .357 bullets and getting jackets was always a problem.

The ideal angle is 7-deg plus another 1 or 2. You don't want to get up into the 11, 12-deg or steeper angles as not only do they not work, they actually potentially increase drag and can induce turbulence leading to instability under some conditions and speeds. (Why the 168 and 180gn Sierra MKs are poor long-range bullets.)