Howa 1500 - scope mount

Is there a better way of mounting a scope onto a Howa 1500 which does away with the Picatinny rail thus:-

- providing a more direct mount - by removing a component - thus providing greater strength and risk of becoming loose / flex

- reduces the distance between the scope centre and bore

I've tangled with scope mounts for over 40 years and at the minute I find it hard to go past a Picatinny rail. However there are other options including -

http://www.dnzproducts.com/product/freedom-reaper/

At present I'm majoring on Picatinny rails with Burris Signature Offset rings for my rifles. Don't forget about bolt clearance versus the eyepiece of the scope.

Regards

JCS

Is there a better way of mounting a scope onto a Howa 1500 which does away with the Picatinny rail thus:-

- providing a more direct mount - by removing a component - thus providing greater strength and risk of becoming loose / flex

I think the Pic rail is one of the best things to happen to shooting - before, it was a nightmare with dozens of different combinations of rails, rings and mounts.

With actions like the Howa and Rem 700 with the massive ejection port and cut-out for the mag. I always reckon a well installed (glued on) Pic rail just might stiffen up the action a little.