Case trimming help .

Tubs

Now i'm just starting to learn the ropes with reloading i've got the Rcbs rockchucker kit and a few little bits and have read a couple reloading books and watched lots on you tube but i started resizing my brass with my FL dies and written lots down as i go. I'm reloading 223, now my FL die resize's my brass to 1.757 most of the time depending on brass and my Hornady manual says i need to case trim to 1.750 ok i thought so i tried using my Lee cutter and lock stud as you would but i'm still not getting to the 1.750 i can only get it down to 1.754, so do i need to get a new case trimmer or will this be ok. I don't want to go any further until i'm on the right path.

1.76 is the maximum and 1.75 is the minimum. The Lee cutter is set right in the middle which is perfectly OK.

Like most things in reloading, consistency is the most important thing. As long as you trim all cases to the same length then it doesn't matter what that length is as long as it's within the specs for the case which your Lee cutter is.

In the future if you get into seriously tweaking your loads benchrest style then a more adjustable cutter may be in order but for now the Lee will serve you well.

1.76 is the maximum and 1.75 is the minimum. The Lee cutter is set right in the middle which is perfectly OK.

Like most things in reloading, consistency is the most important thing. As long as you trim all cases to the same length then it doesn't matter what that length is as long as it's within the specs for the case which your Lee cutter is.

In the future if you get into seriously tweaking your loads benchrest style then a more adjustable cutter may be in order but for now the Lee will serve you well.

That's great thanks for the reply and advice.

Cartridges cases are made to SAAMI specs,and as MrC says,the case length for 223rem is 1.760 max.