The seating depth mystery

tim_pope

Hi Guys,

I'm new to reloading - I've had success and I've had some issues... It's the latter I'm looking for help on of course, but I'll set the scene so my processes make sense.

I received my rifle a few weeks back (a .308 Savage 12 FTR) and got all my reloading gear. Being new to reloading I based my initial load development on general suggestions so ended up with:

new Lapua brass

Murom primers

TR140

Lapua Scenar 155gn bullets

With assistance from an experienced reloader I took measurements to determine seating depth etc (using Hornady OAL and bullet comparator).

When using the comparator with these bullets the feeling of hitting the lands was very clear (Most likely owing to it being a new rifle I assumed)

The end result was that we were on the lands when the COAL was 2.200" So we went for a 10 thou jump at 2.190" for developing my first load.

Those more experienced may have already spotted the first little snag I ran into. The Scenars are quite long and 2.190" means we are seating pretty deep. The end result, I was only able to only put 43.5gn of TR140 max which gave me an average velocity of 2746 fps ... not going to get me out to 1000 yards (however was enough to get 1st place in my club 300 and 600 the weekend after :D ).

Learning of this limitation my friend kindly gave me some 155 Sierra Palmas (the shorter bullet length allowing more room for powder)

This is where the real issue begins... I went through the OAL measuring process again with nice clear feel of being on the lands like i had for the lapua (turns out this was a mistake) I came out with a COAL of 2.223" (went for a 10 thou jump again with 2.213"). Made up my test (6 sets of 5 rounds 43.5gn - 46gn TR140) and went to the range.