Developing a load.

Big Al

Im a novice to reloading so would like to ask the more experienced loaders what route they would suggest I follow to develop my first load for my .223 with a 1:9 twist.

I have 40gr v-max and 55gr Sierra BKG bullet heads with N133 powder and Remington 7.5 bench rest primers.

I have a precision engineering background and have skilled hands so the concpt of putting a bullet together doesnt appear to be difficult. I think Ive undertood things properly and that the main concept for accuracy are as follows in no particular order.

1. Find a bullet that the barrel likes and of the right weight for the application, I appreciate that 40gr may be too light for a 1:9 twist but the guy who sold me tham said that with the right load they might be ok, hence I have some 55gr as well.

2. Start at the low end of the recommendated powder weight and work up in increments which are noted until you find the best amount of powder for that bullet.

3. The distance the bullet head is seated away from the lands will be important to fine tuning the final spec (length to ogive) for the cartridge.

So my question to you guys is this;

If I played around with .2gr powder incriments and varied the seating depth buy .005" increments I would have a hell of a lot of bullets to fire so what do you do first?

Do you work with a fixed seating depth and then optimise the powder load before going back to the seating depth to fine tune or the other way around or should it be done differently?

Also what are sensible increments for changing powder weight and seating depth/length to ogive?

I hope the answer doesnt turn into 'War and Peace' :)