CCI BR2 primer equivalent??

pwinnall

Hello,

I'm new to handloading but am having trouble finding my components

I have a AE MkIII in .260 rem

Lapau brass

A Max 140gr bullets

H4350 powder

But no primers. I have been told to buy CCI BR2 large rifle primers but can't find them for love nor money.

I can get some Federal Match primers.

Are these ok?

Thanks for your advice.

Phil

Phil,If you don't know about "Accurate Shooter" site,it's very useful-if US oriented-about what works(best) with a range of cartridges.

Fed (match) large should be fine,as will Fed large.Occasionally a particular cartridge does better with a particular primer-eg because it needs a primer that is a little harder/softer than some are,but this isn't the norm.

Gbal

Same as previous posts but may need to review / reworkup your loads if you change to CCI in future.

I even tried some PPU large rifle primers in my .308 with 150gn bullet, 43.5 gns of H4895 and found no difference in function but found a difference in my wallet !!

I even tried some PPU large rifle primers in my .308 with 150gn bullet, 43.5 gns of H4895 and found no difference in function but found a difference in my wallet !!

I tried to get Rem 7 1/2 primers to replace my CCI BRC 4 (small Rifle) primers, but they were just not around at the time. The next available were what I had been using, CCI BR4. But I would have to pay £65+ (ish) per 1000! This was due to the RFD having to buy from another RFD source within the UK.