mink advice please

jason66

Hello all, im new to shooting and hsve recently been asked to try and control mink mumbers on a local nature reserve, I understand all the safety aspects but wondered if any of you fellas havr any experience with mink ? Or any advice how to go about the job.., by the way I will be usund a 22 rimmy with mod. Thanks Jason

Hello all, im new to shooting and hsve recently been asked to try and control mink mumbers on a local nature reserve, I understand all the safety aspects but wondered if any of you fellas havr any experience with mink ? Or any advice how to go about the job.., by the way I will be usund a 22 rimmy with mod. Thanks Jason

Put the gun away and get some traps down, cage traps and fenns in a tunnel are deadly you won't make much impact with a gun!

Thanks, they have been cage trappimg for twrnty years and it has had no effect at all, the mink are very brave and just walk about in the open !!!its the "well known" bird charity and the mink have takrn a liking to mute swans!!

As the reserve is on a large river network I assume there will ne a large transient population ? Maybe constant trappin and shooting ? Are mink mainly active by night ? I seem to see plenty by day ? Apparently they are devastating to indig wildlife and ground nesting birds !!!

Firstly as above I would work the area with suitable traps. either live capture or fenn types. But if it is your intention to shoot then this would be my approach. I would assume the reserve will be frequented by visitors during the day, also mink tend to be more active after dark, So, night time with preferably night vision would be the way to go. I would pre bait areas with some fish, stake it down to make the mink eat on the spot rather than carry it away, have a hide set up at a fairly close range, no further than 15 to 20 yards, also I would probably use cb long ammo although lr subs are ok, If you have a trail cam use it to find where and when the mink are most active.