Pillar Bedding

Guys

In anticipation of the arrival of my McMillan A5 it will need bedding and was going to have a go at doing it myself trouble is I have never done it before and was wondering, whats involved? Is it a straight forward job?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Regards & thanks

O A

Guys

In anticipation of the arrival of my McMillan A5 it will need bedding and was going to have a go at doing it myself trouble is I have never done it before and was wondering, whats involved? Is it a straight forward job?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Regards & thanks

O A

hi -

what action / barrel contour are you doing. as this could/will have a bearing on which method you should use.

IE if it is a very large contour barrel, it is best to extend the bedding forward of the action to help support the barrel and try to stop the weight of the barrel putting stress on the action. this is mostly done with very heavy contoured barrels.

there are a lot of different ways to skin this cat, and i would say that no one way is correct. because the rifle will tell you if it is right or not.

have a look at this.

http://www.6mmbr.com/pillarbedding.html

ATB

Colin :D

It depends on what action you are bedding really

Remington and other round actions are pretty straightforwards, flat bottomed actions like Sako and Tikka's require more work.

Where are you in the country?

If you do it yourself I suggest trimming the Pillars =.030" over size (so they protrude into the action inlet) glue with epoxy, Then bed with Devcon or similar bedding material.

if you search on the web there are a few "how to do it" pages.

Ive been doing bedding for several years on my own and friends rifles, if you want to PM me, I'l forward some info.

There are other lads here who can help too, I am sure.

conatct Col48 if your thinking of having a new barrel fitted mate super fast service,unlike others we wont speak about the DVD will be posted Monday