I'm new to this longer range stuff, but I'm already hooked. A friend and I have just spent a day with John of WMS at the Sweet Lamb complex near my home in Mid Wales. John started with the usual safety briefing and an introduction to the layout of the ranges, then we were off to start pulling (oops, I mean squeeseing)the trigger. There was however one slight problem, our Welsh weather. Wind was gusting between 20 and 25mph with the odd shower thrown in to make us feel at home. I've never needed to 'dial in' on my 223 for the foxes, or my 308 for deer that are my normal targets, but then I wouldn't have ventured to shoot in the weather we were having, and I can't see as far as 500 yrds, but John soon had us hitting stuff that looked with the naked eye to be in the next county. I never do plan to aim at my usual live quarry at such distances, but the dicipline of reaching out beyond my normal range can only make me a better shot. A great day, I'll be going back. Now, were is that drop chart. Ionic

It's a great range, and John's a great fella, but WMS is pricing itself out of the market I think.

I think a few of us have started to feel like they're taking the p'ss with their charging scheme - no real discount for groups, you may as well turn up as a 3 as turn up as a 10, cos it'll cost you roughly the same per person - so no point in going as a group. I don't get it! :wacko:

Have you stepped back to consider the cost per shot you've paid? Cost of ammo and transport plus range fee divided by the number of shots you fired?

Might be £2 per shot as a local; those of us coming from further are looking at £4 a shot once you add in petrol and accommodation.

If I lived near it I'd be spending the range fee on buying some targets of my own and chatting up a local farmer. :lol::)

It's a great range, and John's a great fella, but WMS is pricing itself out of the market I think.