Case tumbling, polishing, tarnish removal, etc.

deerman

Hi guys,

I have read quite a few threads on the forum covering the above, but am still confused as to the best method to clean cases. As a total nOOb (novice) to reloading, I want to try and make use of the long winter nights to learn the basics of reloading. I have tumbled a batch of .243 and .308 cases in walnut media. After over 6 hours in the tumbler, many of the cases still show soot marks, specially around the neck. Natural instinct tells me: just grab a wad of steel wool and give it a good going over, but from what I have been reading here this is the wrong thing to do. I am trying to avoid learning the wrong way and consolidating bad habits that may result in bad results on paper and end up very time-consuming, so I fear I will be turning to the knowledge-base here on a very regular basis in the weeks to come!

There appears to be so many pitfalls to reloading that at times I have asked myself if I'd better leave that alone and continue contributing to the fat dividends Federal shareholders get every year from people like myself. But I am not yet willing to give up even before loading my very first round.

Are there safe products that I can use on brass to remove these marks and polish the cases? Is the problem due to the fact that I left the cases lying around for years after they were used before deciding to give reloading a go? Is it correct that although lube should be applied to the case prior to resizing, none should be applied to the neck, and if so why?

Look forward to your replies and advice.

Best,

George

I always try to clean cases within 24hrs of firing, they clean easier then than later on and years on it is a lot more of a job.