bullet selection for 308

huntsman

I am fairly new to hunting with 308, this season being my first since handing in my 6.5x55. I have been using hornady 150 gr soft points interlock (a flat base) with a mild 43 gr of vit n140 and they are nice to shoot and grouping well.

The problem is the damage and blood splash the last two sika does were shot about 150 yds heart lung shots . The bullet on bullet in both case hit the muscle on the rear of the front leg (but made no contact with the bone). There was considerable splash both on entry and exit, on exit the splash was all the way back along the flanks to in front of the back leg. The blood travelled up under the muscle planes too and considerable trimming was required. All front legs had to be used for the dogs. Both deer more or less fell on the spot and there was no external signs that such damage had occuered in both cases the bullet passed in and out with entry ~1 inch and exit slightly larger.

I am not going to use these any more but would like any suggestions from the 308 users out there as to what works for them. Obviously if neck shooting only, there would be no problem , but I prefer the percentage heart/ lung shot where possible.

Thanks

You don't say whether you're shooting them at close quarters, sub 100yds, or medium range, out to 250yds.

They call the .243 the dogfood calibre, but I found the .308 to be worse when body shots are taken, I partly cured the problem by running Nosler 125grBT's at a modest 2770 fps.

I still prefer the .243 for my deer work and have this season turned my .308 into a long range rifle and don't miss it in the field at all.

In my humble opinion you gave up a better calibre in the 6.5 for general deer work.

Pete.

Huntsman, I have used the same load in .308, and liked the Hornady Interlock the most out of all the .308 bullets I have tried.

Hornady Interbond don't open up enough for me (I like my Roe stalking) and Hornady SSTs are a bit drastic!