Questions before I buy

sir-slots-alot

Gents

Hopefully there is someone with some experience who may be able to advise.

I am seriously considering buying a second hand 22 BR.

Couple of questions - The gun has a Tooley action - are these a modified remmy action - how do you rate them... any info appreciated.

Secondly - the gun has been using moly coated bullets - If I stick shooting moly coated are there any cleaning routene things to bear in mind .. any pit falls as I have no experience of moly coated ammo

what is involved in removing moly from the barrel so I can shoot regular bullets.

An easy job or not -- Remember I am very lazy... :lol:

Thankyou in advance

Alan

Alan

The 22BR is a great cartridge so that's a good start.

I've no experience of Tooley actions but suggest you Google the name and go from there - there's lots of information.

I shoot moly-coated bullets in my 22BR because it cuts down on copper fouling. Cleaning is generally easier than with non-coated bullets (a 50:50 mixture of Shooters Choice and Kroil using patches only is a frequent recipe). If you want to go back to using non-coated bullets then you'll need to give the barrel a very thorough clean with a bronze brush and then be prepared for accuracy to go out the window for maybe 30 shots afterwards.

Cornishman

I will echo the effectiveness of the 22BR

I used to use moly and then couldn't source any moly heads and switched back to normal bullets. I didn't clean the barrel in any special way and accuracy stayed the same. I'm not disputing what Cornishman said, I guess I just got lucky.

Thanks for the replys. does sound a great calibre and I have seen enough of Trigger2 to be impressed.

The gun is for sale at Minsterly Ranges for £995 and also advertised on guntrader.

It comes with some moly bullets , cases and comp dies.

However the stock is the standard remmy stock - looks and feels flimsy and cheap.