Howa 1500 + East cornwall + 1 mile šŸŽ‰

There are many like it, but this one is mine.

71181707740__FD257D29-FD93-4980-897C-A412492DA668.thumb.jpeg.68e3594bc3fdeae574698119e045e882.jpeg

Ā 

So this is a goal Iā€™ve had since I started shooting fullbore 9 years ago. I only started to really think about it just before Covid hit and I ended up waiting 14months for the rifle.

Itā€™s full spec is below, I actually ordered a 26ā€ 300winmag but when a 24ā€ 300PRC showed up in the country I snapped it up after a quick variation.

Ā 

Full spec is:

Howa 1500 24ā€ 300PRC barrel action, off the shelf.

MDT ESS chassis

Athlon Ares ETR 4.5-30x (which Iā€™ve had for a long time)

20MOA rail

Burris XTR tactical rings with another 20MOA of inserts.

Wildcat predator moderator

208eld-m over Reloader26 in Lapua brass with Remington 9 1/2 primers.

Ā 

Shot at east cornwall sporting which is an amazing venue, two huge bunkers 50 yards between them and a valley of farm land which you drive back up (in 4x4s) to get longer and longer ranges. Iā€™ve shot there a number of times before but only ever back to 1250.

Ā 

Kev who runs the venue knows his stuff and was a huge help with his wind calls.

Also as I was transonic around 1275, i was very thankful we had put my rifle in his kestrel as strelok was only trued up to 1250 and it was way out (even with multi BC) beyond that.

Ā 

I didnā€™t go to do the mile, itā€™s always a hope but I went for a private day to learn and just ring some steel, I even had the .22 in the car just in case I was having an off day and we could have shot that to 600Ā 

Ā 

The weather was swinging from sunshine to pouring rain a fog, very thankful for the new awning addition to the trailer hut!

Ā 

We had a quick check at 100 and I wanted to zero my 6.5 which now has a new scope on it after giving the athlon up to the 300.