I recently shot a roe buck with my .243 using 95grain SST. There seamed to be a lotr more damage than normal. the animal was well shot the liver and both shoulders were intact and the heart and lungs were destroyed.

What Cal/bullet combination do you find put the animals down quickly and convincingly but does the least damage.

What does every one else use in .243 and what results do you get with them?

Dave

I will await the incoming and the "use the correct tool etc etc" so here goes.

If your into home loading then give the V max's a try. Ive been shooting them for about 5 years now and someware in the region of 200 Deer shot using them. Never had a wounded deer with them, what i mean is if the Biest is hit square in the boiler room it normaly drops on the spot. The internal damage consists of an entry hole and thats it. The bullet goes in and destroys all internal organs and thats it.

Or

If you have the confidence and the accuracy to do it a neck/head shot with these tips is exposive (as is with most rounds actually).

JMHO (sure most will disagree)

Ads

i agree with panther placement is every thing

example

a wooden stick through your eye and in to your head can kill you

but

being hit in the arse with a scaffold pole isn't going to be a certain kill i.e. wounded animal

any way i do believe the law states that for a .243 you must use a 100 g bullet minimum or has this changed since i last looked

thanks spud

any way i do believe the law states that for a .243 you must use a 100 g bullet minimum or has this changed since i last looked

thanks spud

north of the border mate

but must agree with above shot placement crucial

shot about 20 roe now with the 22-250 and the 55grn vmax boiler neck and head shots very little meat damage always drops them on the spot

North of the border the requirement is for energy and minimum velocity, Hence some use 22cf on roe deer.