Load development 75gr Amax

sean223

This is my first attempt at some load development so thought I'd share a picture or two and see what you guys thought I should do next as am not quite sure. The powder I used was RL15, 5tho of the lands and COAL 2.433. I know there only three shot groups but it does show some sings of accuracy nods. So do I stick with the 24gr and try some setting depth to see if it improves???

post-13362-0-32999000-1444426975_thumb.jpg

I would try 24gr of powder and some quite big changes in seating depth, in the order of 10 or even 20 thou jumps.

Ive not used 75gr Amax but on my 20 cals I found they really like to jump. When I spoke to Callum Fergusson about seating depth he said that he felt you need to make quite significant changes rather than messing about with 5 thou differences in length. Berger also advocate this type of experiment but also the group you have is good so I would also replicate that length as well and see if it repeats.

Here is an example of 20 thou jumps I did on my 20BR - my final depth is actually 120 thou away from the lands and shoots very well indeed.

IMG_0640.jpg

Them are some jumps!! A lot of people say the 75gr needs to be in or at the lands! I still had no pressure signs tho so was thinking mybe could go a little higher mybe up to 24.4?? Hornady book says 24.1gr max. Am pleased with that 24gr group but need to repeat it with 5 rounds to really know.

My understanding of OCW is to not focus entirely the tightest individual group, but to also take notice of its neighbours. i.e. 3 contiguous groups which, if overlaid, would give the best combined group. When taking variations in charge, temperature etc you could find yourself unwittingly straying into the not-so-good 24.1 group.

I would re-run the upper 3 groups with 5 shot groups, shooting 123 123 etc rather than 11111,22222,33333.

I'm no expert though...