Krico .222

tonker

Hi guys, My first post on here as I'm a newbie, so hello all.

I'll start off buy annoying some straight away, by asking a question.

I have a krico 600 series stutzen (Mannlicher stock) and have had it for about 15 years.

whilst it has been ok for fox shooting in the time I've had it, it has never been brilliant for a tight group.

When I opted for the triple, I did so because I was told they were inherently accurate.

Whilst trying to improve my groups, I have bought many different makes of shop bought, and tried many different bullets and powder/weight combo's in home loads. But try as I can I can't get a three shot group better than an inch at a 100yds. I once had a 5 shot group through a thumbnail but don't know how I did it :angry:

I was at the rfd's the other day and was told I was doing well with a stutzen/mannlicher stock as they weren't very accurate. I always thought krico's were a good rifle? Have any of you out there got one of these?

and whilst an 1'' 1 1/2'' is good enough for foxing, we all strive for better don't we. It could always be my shooting though :unsure:

Any thoughts ?

I've a feeling that the configuration of the stock does not allow for a free floating barrel, introducing stresses along its whole length thus explaining the inherent inaccuracy of stutzen designs. Much as they are aesthetically pleasing it would not be a design that one would choose for its accuracy potential. Might you need to consider changing the stock?

Best wishes

Finman

Hi , Krico rifles are built very well and the accuracy is usually very good

But as your RFD has said I think your doing well with one inch groups out of a stutzen with fore end pressure

And that long piece of stock that can move about/twist with moisture, thermal movement

I own a Krico in .222 and it bug holes with 40 and 50gr bullets ( hand loaded) not factory