Quickload

furrybean

Hi all,

Ive been playing with QL for the 6x47 and been using the normal seating depth defaulted by the program.

Im looking at a load for the 105gr Amax and the default gives OAL of 2.800 and my max is 2.608

The pressures go through the roof at that OAL compared with default

I used default with the VLD and worked up and they were great.

Ive adjusted the H2O value also up 0.7gr

Anyone with any thoughts?

I have no experience of this specific calibre (I do note that you have chosen a heavy for calibre bullet) but if you are saying that your chamber will only accommodate a max COAL which is 2/10" less than Q/L is expecting then I am not surprised that pressures are elevated.......from your post it sounds like you are reducing case capacity by seating the bullet very deeply.

First of all you need to recognise that QL is a database of all known data or the cartridges within it.

Some cartridges need a bit of adjustment and one of those is the 6mm BR. I suggest that your first port of call is the actual H2O capacity and take it from there. Then measure the real bullet length.

Tweek those and note the pressures.

Cheers for the replies.

I've put in the actual h2o and oal and that's what lead me to the question.

It was surprising how much the decrease in oal increased pressures and as I develop my loads powder first and then oal, if the best accuracy comes from near max then adjusting the oal (which I normally start long and work increasing the jump) will increase pressure further.

This applies to any small case-capacity design as any change to the effective case capacity has a large effect on the pressure that any given charge weight produces. It's partly about changing the ratio of combustion chamber volume to bore area, partly about the change it makes to the fill-ratio as a charge that fills the case fully or is compressed behaves differently to a charge of the same powder that uses say 90% of the available space in a case.