Is it always best to steer clear of cheap old rifles??

I'm a newbie on here and wondered what people thought of he topic?

Are their certain old cheap rifles not to touch at all or are there some bargains to be had that may get you on the firearms ladder so to speak?

Mainly in talking about .22lr .22wmr and .223 calibre rifles as these are the areas I am trying to get info on

Thanks in advance

Mike

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

.22 lr is far more likely to rust out than shoot out and a well cared for example should last generations, just check on parts availability on all older perhaps discontinued models of all guns as they are expensive if they need to be made. . The average .22 wmr don't get shot too much due to its limitations and more expensive ammo, again very long barrel life. .223 rem, well a range gun is easy enough to spot with all the bluing worn off the bolt knob yet few battle scars from fences and walls like a foxing gun. Many owners of .223's might buy a box of 20 factory rounds a year and fire say ten zero checking and ten into foxes, they wont look minty though as they will get slung in the back of the truck and rested on walls, put down in wet grass etc. but will have a load more life in them than someone's Sunday morning range gun firing 30 rounds or more often rapid fire most weeks, sometimes with cheap squady fodder

Yes some bargains to be had, problem is is knowing how to spot a good one as 1-4-1 variations are a pain in the you know what at times

appreciate the comments

from what info i have gleaned from the world wide web it look like picking up an older .22LR and a.223 for foxes

is there any particular brands and models in these calibres to not consider buying at all?

condition externally isnt to much of a problem as they will be used out and about

another option is to purchase a brand new .17HMR possibly as that is a bit more multi purpose when varminting?

appreciate the comments