204 twist options

Any 20 cal users.

A friend of mine is having a 204 built - with a Pacnor 12 twist tube.

He is planning on shooting only 39 grn Blitz king - ( nothing else )

After abit of reading , he has heard alot of good points and the odd worrying thing. :wacko:

One conern is that some people have claimed stability problems using a 12 twist with 39 grn BK's

I have no experience of this cal - Can any body shed any light if this is true or not. B)

Also what would be the best twist to get if not 1 in 12.

Thanks

Alan

I’m just getting rid of a 204.

It has a Pacnor SS Super Match barrel with a 3 groove 1:12 twist.

I shoot nothing but 40grn Berger’s or 40grn V Max. It shoots 5 round groups into .18 and .21 respectively.

I tried 39grn Sierra but they didn’t shoot worth a damn. The quality control is not up to Berger IMHO. They did stabilize no problem.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

ALAN-hows tricks?never keen on the 204 ruger due to the brass -i went tact20 to use the 223 lapua match brass and i worked a treat a very accurate rifle -if i was doing it again and some time i will i would go either 20br or 20ppc,to take advantage of the inherantly accurate cartridges and lapua brass,i dont think the overall cost of these would be a alot more than 204 ruger but the advantages far out weigh the costs,as you told me once when i wanted to buy some nv"buy once cry once"and that still holds true.

Think the preferred twist for the 39 SBK is 1 in 11, however I can get them in the .3s with a 1 in 9 ok. If the info is not on teh Sierra website then I am sure an e mail pr call to them would sort it.

http://www.sierrabullets.com/index.cfm?section=techservice&page=ballistictech

A

Mine (.204Ruger) is a standard 1:12 Sako Varmint barrel and shoots the 39gn SBK in the .15s all day. Never had any luck with Bergers (35gn) or 40gn VMax. The 32gn Vmax is good and accurate, but not a patch on the 39gn SBK at longer ranges and wind doping.

each barrel has its quirks I guess...