Traditional Lamp or new LED for solo foxing?

I was just wondering if anyone who has/had both lamps & leds can give me an honest opinion on the above question. Most of my foxing is done solo, and at present I hump a scope mounted lightforce for night shooting foxes and rabbits. I know that the new LED scope mounted torches (presently thinking Cluson Masterlite) would save me wires and weight, but does the reduction in beam width, and minor distance, compromise the weight/wires gains?

And finally...or do I just go for an ND3, or would I be compromised in other aspects then too?

Edit: Just read that the ND3 has problems in the cold...not great for lamping! Do any of the LED based lamps also suffer from this?

I have a Cluson Masterlight. It is great for high seat work. You can spot eyes well out past 200 yards, but that is what you see. You cannot make out what the eyes belong to at any distance. Also the field of view is very limited, and the scope mount is easliy knocked. Or am i just plain clumsy?

We have a roof mounted Lightforce on the kubota, and I still fit the Masterlight on my rifle, just in case I need it.

Tonight for example, there was a pair of eyes on some bales by my pen. With the nightforce, through my scope I could clearly see ( and miss, I'm afraid) that it was a fox. With the Cluson, I could only see eyes, and not clearly either. No shot with that set up.

20 mins later, next field and the Cluson came into its own on a vixen 100 yards away on a headland. But still only saw the eyes. Fortunately I had swept the field with the roof light first, so I knew what it was.

One thing I have noticed, is that with the Masterlight, the eyes always seem to be slightly out of focus?

A good bit of kit, but with limitations.

That's a really good honest comparison, many thanks mate! Think I will stick to the lightforce lamp and keep the pennies in the bank for the next kit purchase!

Thanks again, much appreciated, great write up!

Oly